How to get this fancy Ubuntustudio-theme in Ubuntu Feisty

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us You sure hear of Ubuntustudio which was released recently. “A multimedia creation flavor of Ubuntu. Ubuntu Studio is aimed at the GNU/Linux audio, video and graphic enthusiast as well as professional.” Maybe you have seen the nice theme too (like the screenshot on the right)

I will show you now how you can get this theme on your ordinary Ubuntu Feisty.

  1. Add the ubuntustudio repository to you sources.list and download the key and update:
    sudo su -c 'echo deb http://archive.ubuntustudio.org/ubuntustudio feisty main >> /etc/apt/sources.list'
    wget -q http://archive.ubuntustudio.org/ubuntustudio.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add - && sudo apt-get update
  2. Then install the packages as follows:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntustudio-gdm-theme ubuntustudio-icon-theme ubuntustudio-look ubuntustudio-screensaver ubuntustudio-theme ubuntustudio-sounds
    I am neither sure if you need all this packages nor if there are some missing, but for me it worked fine ;-)
  3. Now activate the theme and wallpaper:
    1. Go to System -> Preferences -> Theme.
    2. Scroll down and choose UbuntuStudio (a nice dark theme).
    3. Click Apply Background
    4. Click Close
  4. If you want you can change the login manager too. (I did not because I use autologin and personally find the default ubuntu login manager nicer.
    1. To do this go to System -> Administration -> Login Window
    2. In the Local-Tab choose Ubuntu-Studio and click Close.

PS: The sound will be automatically applied. For the screensaver I do not know what is the ubuntustudio screensaver but it seems you have to set it manually.
Source: http://www.ubuntu-austria.at/printview.php?t=397&start=0

9 Responses to “How to get this fancy Ubuntustudio-theme in Ubuntu Feisty”


  1. 1 Silver June 23, 2007 at 2:29 am

    This theme is Great I have UbuntuStudio on my other PC and I couldnt install it on this one so I enjoy this theme.

  2. 2 JavabeanJames July 10, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Great! Thanks for the tip and how to on this excellent Theme Manager.
    Ive only been using Feisty for a few days and still exploring its
    potentials, And how to customize to my needs. This helped me in my first steps to that aim. Thanks again.

  3. 3 peter August 1, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    it certainly works for me!
    what fonts do you use it with?

  4. 4 mike August 28, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    It worked for me, but i decided to try to use the human bootsplash with this theme, and for some reason I can not get the boot up or shutdown splash screens to show. my /etc/inittab is missing, so all i get is text boot and shutdown screens. does anyone know how to restore?

  5. 5 imot October 9, 2007 at 5:14 am

    thanks alot, my LinUb look so elegent.

  6. 7 Mr.Carrot60 October 22, 2009 at 9:35 am

    The money market can also be free. ,

  7. 8 Loy40 October 23, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Feist books at once, the man MUST be good. ,


  1. 1 Настройка СТРИМ в Ubuntu « InGeekLog Trackback on July 4, 2007 at 7:28 am
Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

