Any macro programs out there for Ubuntu?

After using Ubuntu now for a while I am searching for a macro program like AutoHotkey. I found nothing on the net, so maybe you can help me out.

I used AutoHotkey for the following tasks / search for a macro program which can do the following:

  • text replacement: I type br# and it gets replaced with best regards, Alex
  • url opening: I mark a word and press a shortcut which opens my webbrowser with a specified URL like http://dict.leo.org?search=%s where %s is the marked word.
  • hotkey for direct access to folder: I press for example <super>+1 and nautilus opens with eg. /media/backup/
  • hotkey few folder: I press eg <cntrl>+<n> and a new folder is created and highlighted for renaming (or a dialog is presented where I only have to type in the name)
  • paste as plain text: Strip all special markups in a text (like copied from firefox) and paste it.
  • get pixel color: Press a hotkey to copy the pixel-colour under the mouse pointer to the clipboard or display it.

Do you know such a program which can perform all or a part of these actions? Let me know!

Lifehacker has a nice article: Feature: Automate Repetitive Typing with Snippits. Snippits does not support all the wanted features, but helps a lot.

23 Responses to “Any macro programs out there for Ubuntu?”


  1. 1 Ape May 26, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    I’m looking for the same program! In windows we have Quick Macros 2..

  2. 2 fpboo June 4, 2007 at 4:44 am

    Me 2 :)

    Looking and looking.. The funny thing is that it should be possible, i mean i can use gclipper and simply pres ctrl+alt+c to get a list of strings from a clipboard.. not far away but not what im looking for :) ..

  3. 3 Robert June 23, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I got Autohotkeys to work in Ubuntu Feisty Fawn, but only within the ‘wine’ application. I had to install VB 6.0 sp6 in order to get that far. Hopefully I’ll learn how to make Autohotkey more universal throughout other applications too.

  4. 4 wei June 28, 2007 at 3:25 am

    xmacro would be a good program to use for that

  5. 5 L. S. Russell July 5, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    XAutomation, like xmacro, is a command line based macro playback app but to my knowledge XAutomation has no record facility. YOu can bind xte to a command key. The thing that is still missing is the text replacement ability.

  6. 6 sebsauvage September 2, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I stumbled across this post through Google, and I have the same issue.

    Here are 3 tools which could be of some help:

    – xmacro
    – xautomation
    – dogtail (python-dogtail) http://people.redhat.com/zcerza/dogtail/

    I’m still investigating.

  7. 7 Aggressive Prefector December 16, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    I am also looking for a macro program like Tasker for windows. I want to use it in Ubuntu though.

  8. 9 Auto-Hotkeys for AutoHotkey March 29, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    It can be difficult to remember all the hotkeys linked to your macros. Everything is different with an overlay keyboard (like the Enterpad). Pressing the right labeled key will instantly generate the hotkey which will start the right macro.

  9. 10 bro February 18, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I just found Autokey (http://autokey.sourceforge.net/) and I’m totally amazed!!

    It’s a small Gnome friendly application written in Python which resides in the tray.

  10. 11 IT all sucks so far May 20, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    People want something simple, where they can easily start it from a drop down menu and then hit a start record key that begins recording all input, mouse and keys and then a stop record key.
    Its as simple as that, thats what we want.
    Xnee seems absolutely retarded as I have to go into a terminal, type in commands that it won’t accept, given from example files.

  11. 12 Justin May 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Hey I’m using Ubuntu 9.04 with Evolution and loving it. I’m just looking around trying to find a way to record a macro for sending emails. (I check the postmaster email account, and when I forward stuff on I like to add something like: This message came in to the “POSTMASTER” account.
    But don’t feel like typing that out 500 times/day.
    In Outlook it was so easy, I would just hit ctrl+shift+P and the macro would enter that text for me…

    – J

  12. 13 Daniel July 14, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Xnee is great when it works…
    After some investigation:
    Xnee the backend more or less,
    cnee command line version “cnee -rec” records etc.
    pnee appears on panel
    gnee a fancy gui version

    However!!! (Big However)
    Under Jaunty 64 bit there is a problem with the record function and is thus useless…a fix is supposedly on the way.

    xmacro is ok but i always value a gui that prevents me from having to search for the correct things to enter into the terminal..(also doesn’t have a man page)

  13. 14 macroman September 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I run autohotkey under wine with Ubuntu 8.04. Take a look around on the web and there are some examples.

  14. 15 Derek October 14, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Thanks to bro above for the lead to AutoKey! That is exactly what I was seeking, and actually, far better than what I was hoping for. I’m using it with Hardy, but they have packages ready for Intrepid, Jaunty, and Karmic too.

  15. 16 Playsoon November 24, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    sudo apt-get install autokey

    Is an easy way of getting autokey

  16. 17 dblanchard January 13, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Thanks to whomever started this thread and to all the responses. I’m still looking through the options, but IronAHK may be the answer for me.

    https://github.com/polyethene/IronAHK

  17. 18 Muhammad bin Yusrat March 21, 2011 at 8:15 am

    I found all these features with “AutoKey.” You can install it by searching for AutoKey in the Ubuntu Software Center.

    It does come with a GUI and is not a command line based software.

  18. 19 Andy June 5, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks!
    Autokey does exactly what I want. Couple of hotkeys to insert e-mail, and address into numerous documents I need to type.
    Many thanks.
    -Andy, Oulu, Finland

  19. 20 Roger Heathcote January 5, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Yep AutoKey is the one, going to use it right now infact to fill int he fields of the reply form :) Thanks op & “bro”.

  20. 21 Roger Heathcote January 5, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Only big prob I’ve found is it doesn’t seem to hide the hotkey keypresses from every app so I found some of my shortcuts conflicted with app shortcuts, especially when using the alt key and a letter in a shortcut. Also the interface is a little flaky (in my version of gnome desktop at least) but it’s clearly an early release and I’m sure it will improve with time.

  21. 22 Anonymous February 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Question: Will autohotkey record the Fn key?

  22. 23 Jonezy February 11, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    p.s. I would like to record the Fn+F7 combination…


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

